

## Media copy of letter sent to Oklahoma U.S. Congressional delegation.

July 1, 2014

The Honorable Jim Bridenstine

The Honorable Tom Coburn

The Honorable Tom Cole

The Honorable Jim Inhofe

The Honorable James Lankford

The Honorable Frank Lucas

The Honorable Markwayne Mullin

As current and former Republican elected officials, we are writing to urge you to pass immigration reform this year. The current system is broken, and the United States cannot afford to wait any longer to fix it.

The system is broken for the business owners who are unable to grow their businesses due to workforce shortages. These shortages affect both high-skill and low-skill industries alike. When these industries are stifled, so is job creation for all Americans.

The system is broken for farmers who are producing below their capacity when they cannot meet their labor demands. According to the Partnership for a New American Economy (PNAE), labor shortages in the agriculture industry are causing a loss of over \$3 billion in GDP and over \$1 billion in farm income.

Not only can we no longer economically afford to wait, but there is also broad support, including Republican voters, for fixing the broken U.S. Immigration System. Recently, the Tea Party Express, Americans for Tax Reform and PNAE released a poll showing that 71% of "Tea Party" aligned Republican primary voters believe it is important to pass reform this year.

We personally understand how difficult it can be to pass complicated legislation, but it is necessary. On behalf of those farmers, ranchers, businesses and individuals in our state

supporting reform, we ask that you work with your colleagues to finalize legislation that can be passed into law this year.

Sincerely,

Frank Keating Governor of Oklahoma 1995-2003

Curt Roggow State Representative, Enid 1998-2006

David Greenwell City Councilor, City of Oklahoma City 2011 – present

Shane Jett State Representative, Shawnee 2004 – 2010

Ron Peters State Representative, Tulsa 2000 – 2012

Kris Steele Speaker of the Oklahoma House, Shawnee 2011 – 2012

Meg Salyer City Councilor, City of Oklahoma City 2008 – Present Kirk Humprheys Mayor, City of Oklahoma City 1998 – 2003

Ron Norick Mayor, City of Oklahoma City 1987 – 1998

Don Armes State Representative, Lawton 2002 – current

Lee Denney State Representative, Cushing 2004 – current

Lisa Billy
State Representative, Purcell
2004 – current

Dale Dewitt State Representative, Blackwell 2002 – current